Driving with a Suspended License
The State of Florida takes its traffic laws very seriously. Driving with a suspended license is therefore considered a very serious offense. You rely on having a valid and current driver’s license to get you from place to place, including work and school, and when this is suspended you could face a great burden.
This is why so many people continue to drive, even after their license has been suspended. If you are pulled over, however, you face serious consequences. It is important that you call (877) 377-7801 as soon as possible. Speak with Gainesville traffic offense lawyer Chris Jones to get the defense you need.Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License
Many people underestimate the consequences they face when they are pulled over. After all, even if you are only pulled over for a common “fix-it” ticket, if you are found to have a suspended license you will be punished severely.
Penalties for driving with a suspended license in Florida include the following:
- 60 days in jail and up to $500 in fines for a first offense
- Up to 1 year in jail for a second, or misdemeanor, offense
- Up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine for a third, or felony, conviction
You may also be labeled as a habitual traffic offender, or HTO, if you receive three offenses within five years. The Florida DMV may then revoke your license for five years, leaving you unable to drive to work, school, or friends and family.How can My License be Suspended?
There are a number of reasons that your driver’s license may be suspended. These include points on your record, arrests for previous traffic violations such as DUI, failure to pay traffic ticket fines, failure to appear, a lack of insurance, drug convictions, theft convictions, or even delinquency with child support payments.How to Reinstate Your Florida Driver’s License
In order to reinstate your Florida driver’s license, you’re going to have to go through a Florida DMV driver license office and meet their license reinstatement requirements. Your offense will determine what sorts of documents you need to bring to the DMV for the purpose of reinstating your license.
The following is an overview of offenses and what actions you need to take:
- Traffic Summons or Failure to Pay a Fine: If you failed to comply with or appear on a traffic summons or failed to pay a fine or complete/attend traffic school, you will need to pay $60 for a D6 suspension reinstatement fee and provide evidence that you satisfied your summons.
- DUI: Convicted for DUI? You may need to provide proof of bodily injury liability insurance and proof that you enrolled in and completed any required DUI treatment or courses.
- Inadequate Vision: To reinstate your license after it was revoked due to inadequate vision, you must provide proof of an eye exam that demonstrates that your eyesight meets the minimum DMV vision standards.
- Traffic Points Accumulation: If you have accrued too many points in a given time period, you will have to take a required exam and submit proof that you are enrolled in an Advanced Driver Improvement course. These points remain on your record for a minimum of 5 years.
You can learn more about what to expect if your license has been suspended on the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Website.Contact a Gainesville License Suspension Attorney Today!
As a skilled trial attorney, Chris Jones has handled thousands of cases and established a track record of success during his years of success. We offer support and guidance around the clock for whatever you face. To get your case started off on the right foot, we offer free consultations!