DUI Defense

Were you arrested for driving under the influence in Florida?

First things first: if you have been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Florida, you need to talk to a lawyer quickly. You only have 10 days to request a hearing with the DMV or your driver's license will automatically be suspended. At the law firm of The Law Offices of Edwards & Mason, our lawyers have defended innumerable people facing driving under the influence charges. We will represent you both at your DMV hearing and in your DUI criminal case.

Free attorney consultation: Contact our DUI/DWI lawyers in Gainesville and Ocala, to talk to an attorney about your case. People arrested for DUI in Florida face costly penalties, even for a first-time offense. Those penalties include:

  • Driver's License Suspension
  • One Year Supervised Probation
  • 10-day vehicle impoundment
  • 50 hours of community service
  • A Hefty Fine
  • Court Costs of About $1,000
  • Participation in DUI Course
  • Participation in an Alcohol and Substance Abuse Treatment Program
  • Random Alcohol And Drug Testing
  • High-Risk Auto Insurance

Many people convicted of DUI also end up losing their jobs. When the consequences are this high, it only makes sense to talk to a lawyer to find out if you have a valid defense.

Representing You in Your DMV Case

Hiring a lawyer to represent you doesn't guarantee that you can prevent the DMV from suspending your driver's license. However, it allows you to exercise your right to a defense. At your hearing, your attorney can cross-examine the police officer to find out if your rights were violated or if proper police procedures weren't followed. Representing you in your DMV hearing allows us to be proactive in planning your defense.

Defenses in DUI Cases

Even if you were drinking or using drugs, that doesn't necessarily mean the state can convict you of DUI. The issue is not whether you had been drinking or using drugs. The issue is whether you were drinking or using drugs to the extent that you were impaired and whether the state can prove it. Most people accused of drunk driving don't know their constitutional rights. For example, the police can't pull you over unless they have a valid and legal reason for doing so. If you are pulled over, you are not required to take a field sobriety test. We advise our clients not to take either the field sobriety exercises or the Breathalyzer test. Even if you did take the tests, the results can be challenged for technical reasons.

DISCLAIMER: This website does not seek to nor does it establish an attorney-client relationship. The content is provided "as is" and should not be construed as legal advice on any matter of criminal defense. You should seek the services of a qualified attorney immediately following an arrest for any DUI charge.

Contact Us for a Free Consultation
Contact Us