Gainesville Driving with a Suspended License Attorneys
Relentlessly Pursuing a Positive Resolution
You rely on having a valid and current driver’s license to get you from place to place, including work and school. Without your license, you could face a significant burden.
Florida takes its traffic laws very seriously. Driving with a suspended license is considered a very serious offense. Because driving privileges are vital to daily life, many people continue to drive even after their license has been suspended. If you are pulled over, however, you face serious consequences.
If you have been charged with driving on a suspended license in Gainesville, schedule a free consultation with our criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Edwards & Jones.
What are the Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License?
Many people underestimate the consequences they face when they are pulled over. After all, even if you are only pulled over for a common “fix-it” ticket, you will be punished severely if you are found to have a suspended license.
Penalties for driving with a suspended license in Florida include:
- 60 days in jail and up to $500 in fines for a first offense
- Up to one year in jail for a second – or misdemeanor – offense
- Up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine for a third – or felony – conviction
You may also be labeled as a habitual traffic offender (HTO) if you receive three offenses within five years. The Florida DMV may then revoke your license for five years, leaving you unable to drive to work, school, or friends and family.
How Can My License Be Suspended?
There are a number of reasons that your driver’s license may be suspended. These include points on your record, arrests for previous traffic violations such as DUI, failure to pay traffic ticket fines, failure to appear, a lack of insurance, drug convictions, theft convictions, or even delinquency with child support payments.
How to Reinstate Your Florida Driver’s License
To reinstate your Florida driver’s license, you will have to go through a Florida DMV driver’s license office and meet their license reinstatement requirements. Your offense will determine what kinds of documents you need to bring to the DMV to reinstate your license.
The following is an overview of offenses and what actions you need to take:
- Traffic Summons or Failure to Pay a Fine: If you failed to comply with or appear on a traffic summons or failed to pay a fine or complete/attend traffic school, you will need to pay $60 for a D6 suspension reinstatement fee and provide evidence that you satisfied your summons.
- DUI: Convicted for DUI? You may need to provide proof of bodily injury liability insurance and proof that you enrolled in and completed any required DUI treatment or courses.
- Inadequate Vision: To reinstate your license after it was revoked due to inadequate vision, you must provide proof of an eye exam that demonstrates that your eyesight meets the minimum DMV vision standards.
- Traffic Points Accumulation: If you have accrued too many points in a given time period, you will have to take a required exam and submit proof that you are enrolled in an Advanced Driver Improvement course. These points remain on your record for a minimum of five years.
Contact a Gainesville License Suspension Attorney Today
As skilled trial attorneys, we have handled thousands of cases and established a track record of success over the years. We offer support and guidance around the clock for the traffic offense you are facing.
We offer aggressive and creative defense strategies that can help you avoid the harsh penalties of this crime. Contact us at (352) 329-3632 to get started.
Hear It From Our ClientsWe Are Committed to Client Satisfaction
“It is my opinion that he is clearly one of the best lawyers in the city of Gainesville.”- Everette Sr.
“Mr. Edwards believed in us and took a chance, we will forever be in his debt.”- Colin
“He put his heart into that case.”- Jan